Referee gives verdict on four Arsenal incidents after Newcastle red card and penalty calls

0
Arsenal secured a dramatic 2-1 win over Newcastle United on Sunday afternoon, but the game could have been very different if a number of decisions went in the favour of the Magpies

Arsenal clinched a 2-1 victory over Newcastle United on Sunday, but it wasn't plain sailing for the gunners. Nick Woltemade broke the deadlock for the Magpies just before half time with a powerful header, connecting with Sandro Tonali's cross from the left.

Despite Newcastle's determined defence of their lead in hopes of securing a crucial three points at home, the game took an unexpected turn in the final moments. Mikel Merino levelled the score with a header in the 84th minute, before Gabriel completed the most dramatic of comebacks six minutes into extra time, heading at the near post from a pinpoint corner kick by Martin Odegaard.

While Mikel Arteta will be delighted to secure his fourth win of the season on rival turf, the Spaniard and his team may have been spared by several tight calls from referee Jarred Gillet, which could have easily swung the game in Newcastle's favour.

READ MORE: Gary Neville details Ruben Amorim sack theory as Man United owners make big decisionREAD MORE: Nick Woltemade hits back at Gabriel as Arsenal star told he 'got lucky' over elbow

Mirror Football breaks down four incidents from the showdown that could have completely changed the course of the match...

Viktor Gyokeres sees a penalty overturned

The match was level and just 15 minutes old when Gyokeres went around Nick Pope in the Newcastle penalty area before tumbling to the turf after appearing to be brought down, with Gillett immediately pointing to the spot to award the Gunners a penalty. But VAR instructed the referee to check the pitchside monitor after studying replays, spotting that the Magpies goalkeeper had managed to get a touch on the ball before bringing down the Arsenal forward with his knee, reports Football London.

Following his own review of the footage, Gillett reversed the penalty decision and denied Arsenal the opportunity to take a 1-0 lead in a devastating blow for the visiting side. Sky Sports pundits Dermot Gallagher and Jay Bothroyd found themselves at odds over the controversial call.

Gallagher said: "When you look at it, Pope does get a touch on the ball, doesn't he? My instinct, immediately is penalty, but when you see it again, he does get a touch on the ball. He plants his foot so he doesn't follow through with the tackle, so that's why it was overturned."

But former striker Bothroyd disagreed, responding: "That's definitely a penalty and I don't care. Okay, he's touched your ball ever so slightly, ever so slightly. If he doesn't hit Gyokeres, then he's going to go around the keeper and put it in the back of the net.

"He has obviously stopped him from getting to the ball, there might have been the slightest touch, but it isn't enough to say it's not a penalty. It's still a penalty."

Writer's verdict - No penalty

While Pope does bring down Gyokeres to halt his advance, I wouldn't call it a penalty as the keeper manages to touch the ball, however slight. One could argue that Gyokeres is taking the ball too wide with his own touch to guarantee a goal, and despite the bitter pill to swallow, he certainly overreacts to the contact made.

Anthony Elanga denied a penalty

Elanga also had a strong case for a penalty for Newcastle in the 86th minute, which could have sealed the game after Arsenal had just levelled the score. Cutting in from the right before shooting at close range, the winger saw the ball hit Gabriel's extended arm before being deflected away.

Referee Gillett instructed both teams to play on, while awaiting confirmation from Darren England and VAR. The officials in the VAR room didn't see enough to award the penalty, and the game continued at 1-1.

Discussing the penalty appeal, Gallagher said: "I think this is a really interesting decision," adding: "Now, the rule is, if it strikes your body and flies up onto your arm, it's not going to be given because it's not possible to get out of the way."

Bothroyd agreed, explaining: "I was the same with Dermot on that one. That was a tough one, because they're going into a challenge. And like Dermot said, by the letter of the law, the rule is if it touches your body and then hits your arm it's not handball.

"But the only thing I would say about that is, yes there was a challenge but not enough of a challenge because the ball was still going to go in the box until it his his arm. That's the only thing I would say on that decision, but again, by the letter of the law, it's the correct decision."

Writer's verdict - No penalty

While at first glimpse it appears Gabriel fails to make contact with the ball using his foot, replays demonstrate that Elanga's effort actually ricocheted off his boot before striking his arm. It's rather peculiar, considering the defender had his arm positioned unnaturally and raised high above his head, and James Tarkowski was penalised against Leeds this season despite having his tucked behind his back. However, the rules are the rules

Gabriel nearly sees red

Gabriel might have netted Arsenal's decisive goal in the dying moments, but he was arguably fortunate not to receive his marching orders earlier following an altercation with Woltemade. Newcastle were leading 1-0 when the centre-back appeared to push the Magpies star in the face away from play, completely escaping Gillett's notice until it was highlighted to him shortly afterwards.

VAR reviewed the incident and concluded there was nothing untoward, with Gallagher and Bothroyd again divided on the matter. Gallagher offered his perspective: "I think he's lucky he didn't actually strike him properly, because where he's got lucky is the referee hasn't seen it.

"It's gone to VAR and VAR are to say, 'Red card of nothing,' and it's decided it's not a red card. I don't think it's a red card."

However, Bothroyd raised a valid argument that had Woltemade collapsed and clutched his face whilst making a scene, Gabriel would have probably received his marching orders. He said: "If he goes down there and starts holding his face, they're probably going to go to VAR and see what happened - and then there's going to be a decision to make.

"The fact that he's an honest player and he's stood strong... Gabriel shouldn't have done that, that could have been costly for Arsenal."

Writer's verdict - Red card should have been shown

Whilst Gabriel's contact appears slight, footage of the incident clearly demonstrates the Brazilian catching Woltemade with a clenched fist across the face. Had Woltemade collapsed and milked the situation, it would have been a sending-off without question, and potentially a three-match suspension for the Arsenal centre-back.

Riccardo Calafiori hit by towel-gate

Calafiori endured a peculiar decision during the opening period when officials prevented him from using a towel to dry the ball before executing a throw-in for Arsenal - forcing him to use his jersey instead. Whilst the English Football League has regulations preventing external equipment as part of anti-time-wasting measures, there's nothing in the official guidelines prohibiting players from using towels to dry match balls.

However, according to reports, both sides must reach an agreement on towels being positioned around the pitch before kick-off, with towels needing to be evenly spread and remaining stationary. That's potentially why Calafiori was prevented from using the towel he grabbed from Pope's area.

Discussing the incident, Gallagher explained: "I don't know why the towel is there because they have to agree before the match, both teams, that they will have towels there that they can both use. The agreement wasn't made pre-match so therefore they can't use it, neither of them. I don't know why it was out there but it was quite comical."

Bothroyd added: "Was that even the goalkeeper's towel, because if it was the goalkeeper's why was it not behind the goal? And the fact that he's gone an took it and then gone back to him and he's like, 'No you can't use that.' Why not? I don't know. That was a strange one. It was funny though."

Writer's verdict - A ridiculous ruling

If there's a towel on the field and it's within reach, then why not permit players to utilise it? I appreciate the Premier League's regulations on time-wasting, but this occurred during the opening period with the score at 0-0, so I'm quite confident that running down the clock wasn't remotely on the defender's mind.

Click here to read article

Related Articles